Join us for New London Day 2017 on October 21st!
Saturday 10/21/17 10AM to 3PM: Free Admission
Join the Friends of New London for their annual New London Day in the historic village of New London. Explore what remains of this once vibrant colonial village and hear about the exciting plans to preserve it for future generations.
* Liberty University’s Historic Mead’s Tavern (594 Alum Springs Rd) will be open for interpretive tours by students in period attire. See findings from the ongoing architectural study and view the artifact display of items found during excavations in the tavern yard
* FNL’s 1850 Methodist Church and 1930 African-American Methodist Church will be open for tours. Other historic buildings throughout the village will feature interpretive signage and exterior tours.
*Local history forum featuring exhibits from Lynchburg area museums and historic sites
* Antique car show
* Live bluegrass and traditional music throughout the day
* Free cider and popcorn
New London was established in 1754 as the first county seat of Bedford County and as the seat of Russell Parish. Located at the crossroads of connections to the Great Wagon Road and the Wilderness Road, its stores, shops, and mills supplied the local community and many pioneers. The Bedford County Courthouse was located on the lot adjacent to Mead’s Tavern and the colonial militia mustered close by. By 1775 an arsenal at New London village produced gunpowder, cartridges, and accoutrements for soldiers. This grew to become a Continental arsenal with musket repair shops and production of artillery shells supplying forces in Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. The arsenal remained in use until at least 1814. New London Academy was chartered in 1795 to educate young men. Roland Academy was established in the former Mead’s Tavern as a boarding school for young females and operated 1810 until 1822. By the mid-1870s New London had become a resort community with many visitors to its Bedford Alum Springs hotel.
Directions: From Lynchburg, via US 460 West, just past the junction with Timberlake Road, turn left onto Wildwood Road at the stoplight, then turn right onto Alum Springs Road. Mead’s Tavern is at the intersection of Alum Springs Rd. and Town Fork Rd. Watch for the Parking signs. From Bedford, via 460 East, pass New London Academy, enter Campbell Co., then turn right onto Turkey Foot Rd. at the stoplight then left onto Alum Springs Rd. For further information, please call Reve Carwile, Jr. (434) 907 – 5396.